LE MENIL

  • 745003351_8
  • 745003351_5
  • 745003351_6
  • 745003351_20
  • 745003351_9
  • 745003351_10
745003351_8745003351_5745003351_6745003351_20745003351_9745003351_10

Presentation

The village of 1,000 inhabitants, located in old glacial valley, has had a history in the textile industry from 1840 to 1989.
The name of its inhabitants: “Guédonnes” and “Guédons”, is a testament to this industrial history.Granite mining is part of this history as well.

Nowadays, the old quarry is used as a climbing wall on its south face, and as a place to relax and gaze at the landscapes on the north face. This place, called “the Beaudevé”, has sculptures made by a local artist on its two faces. Next to it, the chapel of Pity, dating back to the 19th century and renovated in 2012, has two modern stained glass windows. Both sites are accessible by a fitness trail with beautiful views, especially on the valley of Les Granges.


The church dates back to 1735, and the foundation stone was laid in 1734. An elegant staircase curved on each side of the porch is worth the detour. This building has interesting furniture, particularly a wooden Christ probably carved in the 18th century and a fragment of altarpiece from the 16th century. The stained glass window of the choir, dedicated to Saint Blaise, were made by the world-know master glassmaker LOIRE from Chartres.


Discover the orientation table and many beautiful views on the Moselle and Moselotte valleys (the tops of Cornimont / La Bresse) during a walk.

The maps of the village are downloadable here

Informations
  • Location :
    • In the country
    • Near a main road
    • In a Regional Country Park
    • In the mountains
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
LE MENIL
rue du Général De Gaulle
Salle Polyvalente La Familiale
88160
LE MENIL
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 47.90861
Longitude : 6.79250
Contact
LE MENIL
rue du Général De Gaulle
Salle Polyvalente La Familiale
88160
LE MENIL
mail / message
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Fields with an asterisk * must not be left blank
My request
Your Contact Details
In accordance with Law No. 78-17 of 6 January 1978 of the National Committee for Information Technology and Civil Liberties (CNIL) with regard to computing, files and liberties (article 36), the interested party is entitled to ask for his/her personal information to be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted if it is inaccurate, incomplete, ambiguous, elapsed or in respect of which it is forbidden to use, disseminate or store said information. Should you wish to exercise this right, please specify the fact in the form above.

LE MENIL

  • 745003351_4
  • 745003351_5
  • 745003351_6
  • 745003351_8
  • 745003351_9
  • 745003351_10
745003351_4745003351_5745003351_6745003351_8745003351_9745003351_10

Présentation

Village de 1100 âmes, situé dans une ancienne vallée glacière a connu un passé industriel textile de 1840  A 1989.

Les habitants se nomment Guédonnes et Guédons, appellation liée au passé textile de la localité et de ses habitants. L’exploitation du granit fait partie du passé industriel du Ménil.

Aujourd’hui l’ancienne carrière sert de mur d’escalade sur sa face sud et de lieu de repos et de contemplation des paysages sur sa face nord. Ce lieu dénommé « le Beaudevé » a reçu des sculptures sur les deux faces de son exploitation d’un artiste local. A proximité la chapelle de Pitié datant du 19ème rénovée en 2012 possède 2 vitraux modernes. On peut accéder à ces deux sites par un parcours de santé offrant de belles vues, en particulier sur la vallée des granges.


L’Eglise datant de 1735, la première pierre posée en 1734 à droite de l’entrée et un élégant escalier balancé de chaque côté du porche méritent un détour. Cet édifice est doté d’un mobilier qui n’est pas inintéressant, en particulier un Christ en bois sculpté vraisemblablement du 18ème siècle et un fragment de retable du 16ème siècle. A remarquer les vitraux du chœur, œuvre de maître LOIRE verrier à Chartres, ils sont dédiés à Saint Blaise.


Au gré des promenades, découvrez la table d’orientation et les nombreuses belles vues sur les vallées de la Moselle et de la Moselotte ( les dessus de Cornimont/ La Bresse).             

Informations
  • Localisation :
    • A la campagne
    • A prox. d'une route nationale
    • Dans un Parc Naturel Régional
    • En montagne
Destination
LE MENIL
rue du Général De Gaulle
Salle Polyvalente La Familiale
88160
LE MENIL
Coordonnées GPS
Latitude : 47.90861
Longitude : 6.79250
Coordonnées
LE MENIL
rue du Général De Gaulle
Salle Polyvalente La Familiale
88160
LE MENIL
E-mail / Message
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués par un astérisque *
Ma demande
Mes Coordonnées
Selon la Loi n° 78-17 du 06 janvier 1978 de la Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertés (CNIL), relative à l'informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés (article 36), le titulaire du droit d'accès peut exiger que soient rectifiées, complétées, clarifiées, mises à jour ou effacées les informations le concernant qui sont inexactes, incomplètes, équivoques, périmées ou dont la collecte ou l'utilisation, la communication ou la conservation est interdite. Pour exercer ce droit, merci de le préciser dans le formulaire ci-dessus.